poetry

enough

I have been lucky enough

to walk the woods.

once, twice, three times, again.

never once the same

as the time before;

a world that so many

will never see.

I have been lucky enough

to walk the mountains.

once, twice, three times, again.

every time the same

as the time before;

a world that will fall

as oceans rise.

I have been lucky enough

to walk the shores.

once, twice, three times, again,

every minute changing,

shifting under my feet;

a world that will vanish

with every fall of rain.

I have been lucky enough

to live, to breathe, to drink.

I have been lucky enough

to eat, to walk, to watch.

But I am not lucky enough

to escape melting permafrost

and the methane beneath.

I am not lucky enough

to escape 1.6 million cans

for every five minutes.

I am not lucky enough

to get by with just recycling

and turning off the lights.

It is not enough

to sit by and hope that

something will change.

I am the change.

I have to be.

Because otherwise,

nobody else will be lucky enough

to see the world

as it was.

Leave a Reply

