poetry

dear mama,

dear mama,

the head fell off my doll

and inside it were misery

and company

and we had a tea party

and now

I am broken

glass.

dear mama,

you looked at me again

and I’ve eaten nothing

today.

are you proud of me

yet?

dear mama,

I don’t know how to tell

you this

but I am broken

and you have not bothered

to sew me together.

dear mama,

my doll is missing her head

and I am missing mine.

dear mama,

it rained again last night

and dripped through the roof

down my cheeks.

dear mama,

are you dancing?

I’ve never been good

at dancing.

dear mama,

I am tired and

there are thoughts

in my head

that are not my own.

dear mama,

I don’t know

who you are

anymore.

dear mama,

the head fell off my doll,

and so I decided

to cut off

my own

so that

we could dance

together.

 

Leave a Reply

